Entries by Daiko

,

The normal condition of living beings

If you look at zazen from the outside, you don’t understand. People sometimes tell me: “But you are loosing your time, sitting there doing nothing…” To practice zazen is to practice the normal condition of the mind. The opposite of the normal condition is madness. Nowhere are we being taught what to do with negative […]

,

The spirit of the summits

There is a mountain of which the summit stands higher than the other mountains, a mountain of which the summit is hidden from the human eye, a summit wrapped in pure air, free from any pollution, always covered with sparkling snow. This mountain is the mountain of zazen. It is sometimes called the Mountain with […]

,

In the morass of opinions

For the great elephant* who got bogged down, who went too far in the morass of opinions, there is no other way out than to step back, to find the strength by himself; no-one can do it for him, he will have to put all his faculties into it. The great elephant who got bogged […]

,

Doing what we have to do

At the smallest thought, you begin to ramble. You ramble, that is to say, you leave the Way. Journalists always comment the news. Truth is sufficient unto itself, life is truth, truth is the Way. Any comment we add only makes us loose the Way, the truth, life. At the smallest thought, we begin to […]

,

True wisdom and true love

What we must cherish more than anything else is the present moment, which never comes again. It is nothing more than to be standing in the stream of life, to be standing in the eternal now, nothing more than not wasting our life trailing behind in the past or anticipating the future. To be standing […]

,

The world of being

There is a saying: “The soul is reflected in the eyes.” The mind is reflected in the eyes. Do not try to catch anything, do not fix your eyes on anything. This is what is meant by to look inside. There are two ways to look at the world. One is to look outside, to […]

,

Making Peace

Dear friend, don’t you see this man of the Way,who does not seek the truth,nor flees from delusions? This is the first verse of the Shodoka, the Song of Awakening, written by Master Yoka Daishi. Yoka Daishi gives us a piece of friendly advice. This man of the Way understood that the three poisons – […]

,

Having few desires

2600 years ago, Shakyamuni Buddha invited his fellow human beings to reconsider their relationship to the world. As he was dying, he gave eight recommendations, called the Eight Satori of the Great Man. The first satori was to have few desires, to be content with the satisfaction of legitimate desires, to be content with very […]

Entrées par Daiko

,

Dans le marécage des opinions

Le grand éléphant* qui s’est embourbé, celui qui est allé trop loin dans le marécage des opinions n’a d’autres recours que de reculer, de trouver la force par lui-même ; personne ne peut le faire à sa place, il devra utiliser toutes ses facultés. Le grand éléphant qui s’est embourbé dans le marécage des opinions ne […]

,

Faire ce que nous avons à faire

À la moindre considération, vous divaguez. Vous divaguez, c’est-à-dire vous quittez la voie. Les journalistes commentent toujours l’actualité. La vérité se suffit à elle-même, la vie c’est la vérité, la vérité c’est la Voie. Tous les commentaires qu’on y ajoute ne font que nous faire perdre la Voie, la vérité, la vie. À la moindre […]

,

La pratique de l’esprit éveillé

Assis en zazen, sans chercher à attraper la vérité, sans chercher à éviter les illusions, laissez l’esprit se laver au son pur du présent. Plutôt que d’entretenir son agitation mentale, laissez l’esprit se laver au son pur du présent : abandonnez sans regret les vues anciennes, abandonnez les idées reçues, accédez à l’esprit neuf, à l’esprit […]

,

Sagesse et amour véritables

Ce que l’on doit chérir plus que tout c’est l’instant présent, qui ne revient jamais. Ce n’est rien d’autre que se tenir dans le courant de la vie, se tenir dans l’éternel présent, ne pas gaspiller sa vie à traîner dans le passé ou à anticiper vers le futur. Se tenir dans le courant de […]

,

Le monde de l’être

On dit : « Le regard est le reflet de l’âme. » Le regard est le reflet de l’esprit. Ne cherchez pas à attraper quoi que ce soit, ne fixez pas quoi que ce soit. C’est ce qu’on appelle tourner le regard vers l’intérieur. Il y a deux façons de voir le monde. L’une est de regarder à […]

,

Fabriquer la paix

Cher ami, ne vois-tu pas cet homme de la Voie,qui ne recherche pas la vérité, ni ne fuit les illusions ?  C’est le premier vers du Shodoka, Chant de l’Éveil Immédiat, écrit par maître Yoka Daishi. Yoka Daishi nous donne un conseil d’ami. Cet homme de la Voie a compris que les trois poisons – l’ignorance, l’avidité, […]

,

Avoir peu de désirs

Il y a 2600 ans, Shakyamuni Bouddha invitait ses concitoyens à revoir leur rapport au monde. Au moment de s’éteindre, il donnait huit directions, qu’on appelle les Huit Satori du Grand Homme. Le premier satori était d’avoir peu de désirs, de se contenter de la satisfaction des désirs légitimes, se contenter de peu. Cette préconisation […]

Retraites d’été

La situation sanitaire nous a amené à innover : les sessions d’été habituels ont donné place aux « Retraites d’été ». Tout l’été, chacun pouvait s’inscrire aux dates qui lui convenaient et pour la durée qu’il choisissait. La pratique était celle de la vie quotidienne du monastère : zazen, enseignements – suivis du Noble Silence […]