Entries by Gemmon Casimir Ostyn

,

The universe is a shining pearl

Open your eyes, open your ears, open your hands to reality. As Bodhidharma said: “Don’t dig the cave of the daemons of the black mountain.” Don’t close yourself off from reality to pursue your flights of fancy, your imaginations, your suppositions. In a word, stay present to reality. Leave the bubble of mental activity. Let […]

The practice of awakening

Summary of an interview of Jean-Pierre Taiun Faure for the magazine Sagesses Bouddhistes Why is awakening or liberation so difficult to describe? How to describe that which cannot be described? When awakening is realized, we enter the realm of pure existence, the realm of total existence. We totally exist because we are not watching ourselves […]

Don’t let brambles obstruct the way

“Gracias a la vida que me ha dado tanto…”, sings Mercedes Sosa: Thanks to life that gives me so much, that has given me so much. Some people cannot resolve to enter life without any weapon or armour, just as they are. We could say that Buddhism is a way to live the human condition […]

An invitation to receptiveness

Influenza is infectious, but karma, on the other hand, is not. Each one of us has our own karma. In the case of influenza, something substantial is transmitted. But within the Dharma, nothing substantial is transmitted. Our mind uses excuses. Our neighbour’s practice is not good, so we say to ourselves:  “Why should I make […]

Nothing in the Universe is hidden

A man and his son are coming home at night. They pass a field full of melons. The father says to the son: “I’ll take a few. You’ll keep watch and let me know if anyone comes.” The father goes into the field and picks a few melons. “Do you see anyone coming?” he asks […]

A Life of Integrity

Many people in the West are interested in Zen. Some see Zen as something magical, where one should not have to make any effort. The proposition of Zen is to live one’s life with integrity, to live a life of integrity. When we talk about the integrity of a territory, integrity means totality. From a […]

Be True

When the Buddhas address us, they say: “Good men and women, be true. Don’t tell yourself stories, don’t tell others stories. Good men and women: there’s no flattery, it’s just that your true nature is good. As you are, you are Buddha: this is what Buddha teaches us. So don’t go and play in the […]

A World of Dream

A sutra relates the story of a king who made the following dream: he was a poor man living in absolute destitution who was trying to meet the king of the country to ask him for some help. He was told that the king was over there, so he rushed there, but each time he […]

The right way to think

Not follow thoughts, not avoid thoughts, just don’t worry about it: this is what we do in Zazen. To say that Zen is against thinking is to be a bit hasty. Buddhism is concerned that we use our mind, in all of its forms, in the right way: consciousness, reflection, consideration, thought. Some schools of […]

Entrées par Gemmon Casimir Ostyn

,

Pardonner

Plutôt que de laisser sa pensée divaguer, plutôt que de donner libre cours à sa folie, s’il vous plaît, ramenez votre esprit dans le corps. Revenez à la condition normale, où les pensées glissent sans s’attacher au miroir. Certains me disent : « C’est tout ? Il n’y a rien d’autre à faire ? » Oui, c’est tout. Il n’y […]

Entrer dans la montagne

Dans le Shōdōka, on trouve ce poème : J’entre dans la montagne profonde où j’habite un ermitage. Sous le grand pin d‘une cime escarpée, plongeant dans l’abîme, Je m’assois tranquille et sans souci dans mon humble demeure. Retraite silencieuse, sereine simplicité. C’est une erreur de penser que la montagne est un endroit idéal pour trouver […]

Devenir l’être humain tel qu’il est

Nous vivons à cheval sur deux mondes : le monde des apparences et le monde du tel que c’est profondément, du comment ça marche profondément : la réalité ultime. Un proverbe très célèbre dit : ne vous fiez pas aux apparences, allez plus loin. Le Bouddha avait accepté dans sa communauté un forçat et l’avait […]

Même si c’est difficile, le plaisir n’en sera que plus grand.

Maître Dôgen écrit : Les Bouddhas et les patriarches ont sué sang et eau. Comment pourrions-nous nous dispenser de faire des efforts ? Nous qui nous sommes tant écartés de la condition normale, comment pourrions-nous revenir à la condition normale sans faire d’efforts ? Les patriarches sont des personnes comme nous, mais ils se sont arrachés aux griffes […]

La Voie aux goûts anciens

Celui ou celle qui marche dans le monde l’esprit en paix, celui-là, celle-là, aide le monde. Celui ou celle qui marche dans le monde l’esprit en paix, avec le souci de l’autre, aide le monde. Celui ou celle qui choisit à chaque instant d’aller dans la direction où ses actes, ses paroles, ses pensées sont […]

À la source, il y a le silence

N’allez pas dans le passé remuer les cendres froides pour chercher la vérité. Ne confondez pas non plus les rêves du futur avec la réalité – la réalité vivante, chaude, celle qui est toujours là, qui palpite. C’est un choix à faire : être ici ensemble dans le jour qui se lève, la nature qui s’éveille. […]

L’absorption unifiante

On peut commencer à pratiquer pour toutes sortes de raisons personelles : pour avoir plus de succès dans la vie, pour améliorer sa santé, pour augmenter ses capacités intellectuelles… En fait, on confond souvent, au début, la Voie du Bouddha avec une voie de développement personnel. Mais bientôt se lèvent d’autres questions plus profondes sur le […]

Absolu, sans doute, tel est le Dharma.

Il est toujours bon de se rappeler que zazen n’est pas une méditation ordinaire. Zazen, c’est faire l’expérience de la réalité telle qu’elle est – aussi bien sa réalité intérieure que la réalité extérieure. Le Hōkyō Zanmai est un texte fondamental dans notre école, dont le titre pourrait être traduit par le Samadhi du Miroir […]

Zazen est une demande profonde de notre esprit

Le weekend dernier, une quinzaine de personnes sont venues découvrir la pratique du zen. Le premier jour, après avoir fait zazen, une personne a décidé de partir : « Je ne suis pas venue pour m’asseoir. » Mais le zen n’est autre que zazen. On ne peut pas obliger qui que ce soit à pratiquer zazen. Kodo Sawaki […]